1. Play on the ImDeity Minecraft Multiplayer server -- Goto the "Multiplayer" section of Minecraft and type "mc.imdeity.com" to join!
    Dismiss Notice

Jobs, Resumes, and just plain being professional

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by MasahiroRina, March 24, 2017.

1. MasahiroRina

MasahiroRina

• Gold
    In-Game Name:
    MasahiroRina
    Printable Version

Something that's been on my mind recently is my professional resume. Now, typically I come to ImDeity to ignore work entirely decompress in a healthy manner, but given the young age of much of the Deity community I thought that my recent experiences might be worthwhile to someone. Transitioning from the Navy to the civilian world is expected to be difficult, and as a veteran I have been given some increased resources that I didn't get in high school or college. I'd like to share some of that with you. And perhaps, while going over it again in order to teach, my own retention and application of the material will increase. If you have any questions, feel free to contact me - reply here, private message me, or /mail me.

Topic Outline:
    1. Getting your Dream Job (or most jobs, really) is all about Who You Know
      • Establishing a People Trail
      • Using LinkedIn
    2. Resumes Must Be Searchable (and Cover Letters Must Be Targeted)
      • Stand with the Standard
      • Maintain a Master Resume
      • Use STAR Statements
      • Avoid Cover Letters if Possible
    3. Professional Dress implies Professional Action
      • Levels of Dress, and the kinds of interviews that require them
      • How to conduct yourself while "all dressed up"
    4. Interviews of all kinds Require Preparation
      • Know Thy Enemy
      • Know Thyself
      • You are not expected to Die For your company
      • Professionally Handling Rejection Creates New Opportunities
    5. Discussing the Job Offer gets you More Benefits and Incentives
      • ...like increased salary, healthcare coverage and paid moves