1. Feeling creative, Guest? ImDeity Creative World is for you!
    With 6 ranks and plots from 32x32 up to 512x512!
    Type /creative to join!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Vote for the server daily! Vote for 200 coin!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Guest, do you have too much extra loot? Create an auction!
    The ImDeity Auction System is like free Dei!
    Goto Portal > Auction to create and bid on items!
    Dismiss Notice

Did you know? MC gameplay

Discussion in 'Creative Tips, Critiques, and Advice' started by Hallideadly, December 8, 2013.

  1. Majora_Unmasked

    Majora_Unmasked

    • Gold
    Joined:
    July 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3,648
    Likes Received:
    2,741
    Trophy Points:
    518
    In-Game Name:
    aCrowLookedAtMe
    Plus you can use Squeezal's suggestion outside of DeityCreative
     
  2. Hallideadly

    Hallideadly

    • Sponsor
    Joined:
    February 7, 2013
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    513
    Trophy Points:
    348
    In-Game Name:
    Hallideadly
    Did you know that half slabs have a little trick to them. This only works when the first slab is on the upper half of the block space it occupies.
    The next slab connecting to the first slab can be put up or down, depending on where you click on the first half slab. Aim at the very bottom of the side of the first slab and then the placed slab will be half a block lower than the first slab.

    Aim around here;

    [​IMG]
    and the slab is lower
    [​IMG]
    You can't do it again on the lower slab that way,( because it occupies the bottom half of the block space it is in), but put one there another way and then it will. so long as the slab is the top half of the block space it occupies you will be able to do this trick.

    This does not work in reverse,(making a slab go up a half space)
     
    Last edited: January 14, 2015
    BarryX15 likes this.
  3. CrushedMicra

    CrushedMicra

    Joined:
    January 26, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    33
    In-Game Name:
    CrushedMicra
    Thank you all, these are some interesting tips, I didn't know most of these and will likely try most of them out.
     
  4. Hallideadly

    Hallideadly

    • Sponsor
    Joined:
    February 7, 2013
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    513
    Trophy Points:
    348
    In-Game Name:
    Hallideadly
    The cane did remain for a few days, but after a couple weeks I discovered it all had dropped. Please disregard the entire idea of sugar cane staying in place after the water is removed.

    Sorry about that.
     
  5. super_soup

    super_soup

    Joined:
    December 7, 2012
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    213
    In-Game Name:
    super_soup
    If you have an aisle of seats(like on a bus or something) and you want to add armrests, use item frames instead of signs as you can place the facing each other in a one block wide space.
     
    Majora_Unmasked and Hallideadly like this.
  6. Driver_X

    Driver_X

    Joined:
    April 15, 2012
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    988
    Trophy Points:
    423
    In-Game Name:
    Driver_X
    Did you know that Minecraft has several tricks/shortcuts for it's inventory?


    First the well-known ones:

    -If you hold Shift when clicking an item stack on a chest/furnace/etc, it will be instantly moved to your inventory.
    No need to carry it all the way down.

    [​IMG]

    -You can move items quickly to your hotbar by placing your mouse over them, then pressing a number on your keyboard (1-9).
    The item will be moved to the respective slot. (In the example, I have pressed '3')
    The same can be done backwards, you can place your mouse in any slot of your inventory (or crafting area in the example) and press the number for the hotbar slot where your item is, it will leave your hotbar and switch to the slot you selected. (In the example, I have pressed number 3 again and the logs moved to my crafting area).

    [​IMG]

    -By Right-clicking a stack of items, you will pick half of it, while the other half stays in place.
    If you need 16 of something, right-click a stack then repeat and you have it.
    [​IMG]


    -While holding a stack of items/blocks, if you hold Right mouse button and drag the item along your inventory, you will place a single unit of it on each slot you dragged over.
    -If you hold Left mouse button instead, the whole stack you are holding will be divided evenly between the selected slots.
    Pick a stack of wood and Right click drag it in a chest-making recipe and you'll have 8 chests in seconds*

    [​IMG]
    *result may vary


    -Now that all those logs are scattered and I want them all back into a single stack, no need to click each one of them,
    pick a single unit of it and double click (Left mouse button) on an empty slot.
    Every piece of that block/item you have on your inventory will be collected into a stack instantly.
    [​IMG]

    -Now I want to move that full chest of dirt to my inventory, instead of shift-clicking each stack, pick up a single stack, hold Shift and double click (with left button) another stack of that material/item.
    Any item/block like that in the chest will be moved to your inventory like magic! :)

    [​IMG]
    ^ Real image, all legit, no cuts.


    I have a few more inventory tips that work better on creative only, but I'll post that later if no one does it first :D

    Hope this helps"
     
    tOPIV, BarryX15, Sephronia and 7 others like this.
  7. ChillyChick

    ChillyChick

    Joined:
    January 27, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    33
    There are some good tips in this thread, it's been a good read :)

    I especially like these inventory tips though. I can't wait to grab a stack, hold shift and double click.. I've been shift clicking non stop >.<

    Thanks :)
     
    Hallideadly and Driver_X like this.
  8. xxtechnomancerxx

    xxtechnomancerxx

    Joined:
    March 12, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    33
    If you want to make a red stone combination lock all you have to do is place red stone torches on top of the levers you want to be flipped down and make a wire connect all of the levers then use a signal reverse-er aka a red stone torch to make an off signal on.
     
    tOPIV and Hallideadly like this.
  9. Stargirl7770

    Stargirl7770

    Joined:
    January 1, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    33
    This thread is soo helpful! I'll definitely be using these tips :)
     
    Hallideadly and bran_bash like this.
  10. Hallideadly

    Hallideadly

    • Sponsor
    Joined:
    February 7, 2013
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    513
    Trophy Points:
    348
    In-Game Name:
    Hallideadly
    Did you know, you can have your enchant table serve your needs with the flick of a lever. for the cost of 45 dei for 2 pistons and 7 Rwire I have an example of a level 30/20 enchantment table.

    Since sticky pistons are mere fantasy, whispered about by some, but rarely seen, we have to deal with regular pistons in our deity life.

    [​IMG]
    the set up for this is extra easy, and it can work with 15 bookcases but it looks ugly so I went with 18, and left out the rest of the floor so you can see the wire and pistons underneath.

    Click the lever to set the table to level 20, as now it can only see 10 bookcases.

    [​IMG]

    This cancels out the ones that the sand are touching, as well as the ones above those.

    More pistons can be added to alter it even further, and with a separate lever if you want 3 settings for even more functionality out of your table.

    As always, I hope this is useful for some. :)

    *note - this is not actually for creative, but rather for main world.
     
    Last edited: March 15, 2014
    BarryX15 likes this.
  11. Dragonslayer314

    Dragonslayer314

    Joined:
    February 21, 2013
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    338
    Trophy Points:
    143
    In-Game Name:
    Dragonslayer314
    Another useful tip: Fortune works on carrots and potatoes, so you know that random fortune III axe you have sitting around and don't know what to do with? There's a use for it - it also doesn't take durability damage, so a pick would work as well.
     
    Hallideadly and BarryX15 like this.
  12. Hallideadly

    Hallideadly

    • Sponsor
    Joined:
    February 7, 2013
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    513
    Trophy Points:
    348
    In-Game Name:
    Hallideadly
    Did you know we can make semi-automated fishing pools. This does not work in main as sticky pistons are disabled, so I made an example in the hub to show you how to make it.

    First of all when you cast your rod - cast it into the first part of the water so that the fishing lure goes into the water and comes up under the tripwire at the end of the pool. While the lure is bobbing on top of the water it will be activating the tripwire which in turn brings out the sticky piston by where you are casting. Now with the sticky piston out you will notice that the gate attached to the piston is now in the path of your fishing line, this is what we want.

    While the gate is in the way you can now simply hold down the right click button, (which clicks the gate open and closed) and does not retract your fishing line. Once the lure has a bite and goes under water, the piston retracts and because you are holding down right click - you have just caught something.

    No more watching like a hawk for the bobber to go under water. One more detail that is not in the picture, at the end of the pool with the piston, I have placed 3 hoppers on the bottom of the pool that feed into the center one, which feeds into a chest, just under the trapdoor. I stand on the trapdoor for the best results of being able to open chest and fish in the pool from one spot. The hoppers are needed as most of the caught fish ends up in the water.

    [​IMG]

    Very easy to make. I use 3 sets of tripwire hooks for best results. 2 sets would sometimes not work. I really enjoy how simple this is to make and use - 100% catch rate so far.

    As always - I hope this helps. :)
     
    tOPIV, BarryX15 and Majora_Unmasked like this.
  13. victoryman1

    victoryman1

    Joined:
    July 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    33
    U are SMART
     
    Hallideadly likes this.
  14. Dragonslayer314

    Dragonslayer314

    Joined:
    February 21, 2013
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    338
    Trophy Points:
    143
    In-Game Name:
    Dragonslayer314
    You actually can do it in /main, using iron doors and a bit more redstone w/tripwires (typo and I have it but rarely use it) - look up panda's design fishing farm 1.7 on youtube and you'll find it :)
     
  15. CYRAX_VORTEX

    CYRAX_VORTEX

    Joined:
    March 21, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Did you know that you can build out of your plot if you go high enough?
     
  16. Hallideadly

    Hallideadly

    • Sponsor
    Joined:
    February 7, 2013
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    513
    Trophy Points:
    348
    In-Game Name:
    Hallideadly
    Well I for one have used the ,"You do not have permission" to stop my block placing at the 255 mark, then to the corners of my plot using that same method. I have dug to bedrock and used the same method to find the borders of my plot. This tells me that no - you cannot build beyond your plot, no matter what y axis.

    *note;
    I did not try with Cuboid. I did all that prior to Cuboid.
     
  17. Hallideadly

    Hallideadly

    • Sponsor
    Joined:
    February 7, 2013
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    513
    Trophy Points:
    348
    In-Game Name:
    Hallideadly
    Did you know that when trying to make trees grow using bonemeal when there is a 2 block tall plant in one of the adjoining 8 blocks to the sapling - the tree will never grow.

    discovered this last night when building an arena for war. planted some trees and some would grow with bonemeal and some would not, no matter how long I held right click down. then I would break a 2 block tall plant that was adjacent and bam, the tree grew. did that for all the others that would mot grow and now all my trees are grown. Then I replace the 2 block tall grass/ fern. roses or whatnot after the tree is grown.

    I for one did not know that until last night. - I is a little slow I guess.
     
  18. Tallpines

    Tallpines

    • Sponsor
    Joined:
    November 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    892
    Trophy Points:
    288
    In-Game Name:
    Tallpines
    Did you know that Guardians have no max range with there laser. They can shoot for hundreds of blocks
     
    Hallideadly likes this.
  19. Gawkan

    Gawkan

    • Vip
    Joined:
    October 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Trophy Points:
    508
    In-Game Name:
    Gawkan
    Does this post have anything related to Mc Gameplay which is what this thread for?
     
  20. Majora_Unmasked

    Majora_Unmasked

    • Gold
    Joined:
    July 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3,648
    Likes Received:
    2,741
    Trophy Points:
    518
    In-Game Name:
    aCrowLookedAtMe
    He's talking about a new 1.8 mob, chill out
     
    Hallideadly and Tallpines like this.

Share This Page